Grow up

I used to be unappreciative and negative. I would think to myself, why can’t I have this, why isn’t this given to me, why didn’t I get that. Well, you get the idea. Then life smacked me a few times, tumbled me down a few hills, and humbled me. From then, I was a changed person. I started to count my blessings.

So, for the lost out there, I have taken some time and daring liberty to pen down some of my own negativity and hopefully my *coughs* worldly experiences will get to influence some positive thinking right here right now.

Civil service states that we only work 5 days a week. Sometimes, I need to work on Saturdays and Sundays. That used to make me grouchy. All the rearranging to my schedules, the unrest weekend irks me. But not anymore. I reckon it is alright because I only work on some weekends. There are alot of people out there who work every single weekend. That sucks.

My parents have this notion that what you want, you have to work hard for it. They only provide me with the basics every parent should give : love, shelter, meals, laundry services, care and concern. My parents don’t get me the latest handphone in town or pay for my car down payments. I used to get upset with them because I compared my situations to my peers and I lament out loud why oh why. Through the years, as I grew older, I realised what they did, did me a lot of good. Working for what I want has taught me to be a useful person. I can imagine the spoilt brat I would turn out to be if they really gave me everything I asked for. They have already spoilt me pretty much by giving me alot more than what I can ask for hahahaha .. So I work during holidays to buy my Burberry’s, Levi’s, all my branded stuffs. I have never asked them once to pay for my branded stuffs. Even as birthday gifts. Though now I no longer fancy those branded stuffs, everything I own now, I paid for them with my own pride.

I used to think when I was younger, I was cupid’s fool. I was always in the thought why can’t I be with this person, this lovely one, or that really oh-see-already-want-to-die person? Why is life so harsh, sad and loveless? Seeing friends get together in lovey dovey pairs saddens me. I really wanted someone I can hug, someone who cares for me as much as I for that person, someone who places me as a priority. It used to get me really down whenever I find out the one I love doesn’t love me in return. Well, Good things come to those who wait. Really. People who don’t appreciate you for what you are eventhough you feel you are good and you really want them, don’t deserve you. Full stop. It is better to be in a relationship with someone who appreciates you being there rather than being taken for a ride. The emotional ups and downs are so not worth it.


2 responses to “Grow up

  • Shu'en

    heya, nice heartfelt post.

    we learn bit by bit everyday… i too, am learning to love myself and count the several blessings that have been showered upon me…! i also believe that good things come to those who wait. everything’s easier said than done… but i believe the wait will be really worthwhile for ya. ;]

    may this be a fulfilling journey for ya, both ups and downs included. yr a great individual and no one can say otherwise!!!

Leave a comment