Wow revelation

I had an epiphany this morning when I went to wash the black monster.

Sometimes when I wash my rides at the multi-storey carpark near my place, I will see this malay uncle who always gives me attitude. As he never fails to park his car in the middle of the washing lot, me being there, he has to move his car so that I can move mine in. He will always give me the not you again look and grumble under his breath. Though I can’t hear what he is saying when I am seated in the car, I bet he is cursing and swearing.

Today, I bumped into him at the multi-storey carpark again. So very fortunate. It is not always that I do but when I do, I will think “not again!?!” I even contemplate moving away to look for another place to wash the car to avoid being ‘diao-ed’ in the morning. I had a good night yesterday having supper with the lovely person and today started not too bad so I didn’t want my mood to be ruined by him. Then, something my friend said about being the better person came to me like lightning and so I thought why not to just try it?

When I moved up beside him, I pointed to his car and signed that I wanted to park, following that with a big smile. As always, he gave me the pissed look and went about to get into his car to shift it, before he did that, I gave the ‘thank you’ wave and drove to park. After the both of us parked our cars, I got down and the first thing I did was to say ‘thank you’ to him. The two gestures were not something I usually do. Usually I would just heck him thinking ‘sheesh, did he think the washing lot belonged to him only.’

Then it happened. When I went to collect water from the tap, I saw his hose plugged in, so I asked if I could remove it and you know what he did? He usually grumbles and grunts and pulls the hose out of the tap disgruntledly as if I was invading his private space and he was going to whip me with the hose. But not today. Today, he told me I could use his hose to fill up my pail! I was like, ok, though I was surprised beyond words.

That was not the only thing that happened. After that, he actually spoke to me asking have I sold the YM. He spoke to me ya. Usually I only hear grunts and glances of daggers. I returned the plesantry replies.

After that we carried on with our washing.

The last thing that surprised me was that he actually told me to wait while he moved the car away to another place to wipe dry so that I can use the tap. He always moves the car after washing but always in an angry fashion, slamming the door, making alot of noise with his boot and pails.

Suddenly, I am in awe of what just translated. The power of being the better person is huge.

Wow. This is one of those moments when a revelation of sorts drop down on you and hits you giddy with cognizance of a different kind.


Leave a comment